Through the Latticed Window

My heart aches, and a drowsy numbness pains 

My sense, as though of hemlock I had drunk,

Or emptied some dull opiate to the drains

One minute past, and Lethe-wards had sunk  

 

These are the feelings I truly shared with John Keats this morning, lying all cuddled up in my bed surrounded by pillows of all shapes and sizes and covered by huge thick blankets. Covering me with warm clothes do not suffice, the chill creeps in through my bones and crawls all over me. There’s a busy day ahead but I just cannot step out of my bed. Stretching out to the thick window curtains I manage to peep through the heavy wooden lattice to get a glimpse of the sun but lo! I am disappointed. The sun has refrained from visiting these parts of the globe these days, perhaps the cold is too much for him to bear!  

window

As I looked out of my window sipping my coffee, I realized that loneliness is a terrible feeling. I longed for somebody to cuddle me as always as I got out of my bed. I longed for his whole hearted hug that would drive the coldest of winters away. Why, why am I left alone? Memories of childhood flashed through my mind like I was watching a movie. Being a pampered child I grew up getting all my whims and fancies granted. Educated in the best of schools I moved on to pursue my education in a     university in another part of the country. It’s there that I met the love of my life and decided to spend our lives together until he found greener pastures. Cast away from home and society and having no point of return, today I yearn for my mother’s kisses and father’s hugs. O Daddy, please give me that bear hug of yours.  

 

Oh God!  The clock ticks away sparing me no time for reminiscence. I must rush to work no matter what as it is my only solace these days.

 

In response to :

Writing 101, Day Nineteen: Don’t Stop the Rockin’

On this free writing day, remember the words of author Anne Lamott: “I don’t think you have time to waste not writing because you are afraid you won’t be good at it.”

2 thoughts on “Through the Latticed Window

  1. Latticed windows opens to the past. Now in d concrete jungle there us no such window. You are driven down to the memory lane. A kaleidoscopic view of yesterday. Good work

    Like

Please feel free to leave your opinion here, to help me grow, to correct me wherever needed

