Tansen my Guru

You can choose any person from history to teach you any topic you want. Who’s your teacher, and what do they teach you?

 

tansen

Tansen, the court musician of the renowned Mughal Emperor Akbar of India, was one among the king’s “Navaratna” meaning nine jewels. History states that he was a musician handling vocals, composition and also playing musical instruments. Since I have no knowledge of being alive during the sixteenth century, today I would like to train in Indian Classical music under the great musician Tansen.

His musical prowess could not be compared to anyone before or even after him, it is said. Learning Indian Classical music from the revered legend himself would have satiated my quest for music. I would have got the rare opportunity to nurture under the tutelage of Tansen who is said to have lit lamps by singing Rag Deepak and brought down rain by his rendition of Rag Megh Malhar. Even to this day there are numerous musical concerts and competitions held in his honour.

Music knows no language and bears no boundaries. It possesses the power to soothe, cure and lift the spirit from doldrums. A few thoughts about music from eminent personalities given below highlight the fact that music has no class, creed, religion, territory or inclination towards any profession. It binds all and is admired by all.

“Who hears music, feels his solitude Peopled at once.”  ― Robert Browning

“Music is the universal language of mankind.”  ― Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

“Music touches us emotionally, where words alone can’t.”  ― Johnny Depp

Music to me is my soul, my very existence. Tansen to me would be the best tutor.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Tansen my Guru

  1. I know of the greatness of Tansen 🙂 I’m sure he’d be the best guru. Your post reminded me of the story when Tansen takes Akbar to see his guru Haridas. It made me wonder, if perhaps, the best teacher of all, for all is God. with Him by your side, your music would be just as beautiful as Tansen’s.

    Like

Please feel free to leave your opinion here, to help me grow, to correct me wherever needed

