Music from Veena ~ UBC 4

 

The strains of Veena have mesmerized me right from my childhood.  Always having associated the player with Goddess Saraswati, who as per Hindu belief is the goddess of all forms of learning, art and literature. She is worshiped by vocalists, literateurs, instrumentalists, artists, painters, dancers and by people following any form of art, for the success in their respective fields. Near our home we had a music centre where instrumental music was taught and I remember that as a very small child I used to be in awe of those who played the Veena. Each time I passed by, I made all out efforts to lift myself up on my little toes and peep in through the windows to catch a glimpse of the instrument and the instrumentalist.

 

When I joined college in another part of the country, I stayed in a hostel for students of various colleges. To my astonishment and luck, my room-mate was a senior from a different college doing her post graduation in music. Just out of school and quite raw to the new environs, I spent much of my time with her as she practised singing and playing the Veena. Abundant admiration I showered upon her for her deft playing of the Veena, as her fingers wove magic on its strings. Maybe because of the longing in my eyes, she would mercifully let me harp a tune or two once in a while. The Veena was very sacredly placed on her bed and she herself would sleep on the floor. Every day I took it upon myself to dust the Veena and keep it covered when not in use, though it was not mine. When her friends dropped in I had the habit of being on the prowl to see that all was well with the instrument.

 

My sole motive was to play the Veena not even knowing that there were different types like Saraswati Veena, Rudra Veena, Chitra Veena, Vichitra Veena etc. Today looking back I have pride welling in my heart that my room mate’s class mate who used to drop in then is a renowned playback singer of world wide acclaim. That scintillation within to learn the Veena and possess one after mastering the art is still fanned by me. God willing, my dream will see the light of the day!

 

saraswati_tmVeena

 

This is my response to today’s prompt on The Daily Post : 

Strike a Chord
Do you play an instrument? Is there a musical instrument whose sound you find particularly pleasing? Tell us a story about your experience or relationship with an instrument of your choice.

 

 

/

6 thoughts on “Music from Veena ~ UBC 4

  1. All the best for your musical future. May be your passion for music be the reason why the words you key in be so rhyming. String instruments produce music which is a treat for your ears. Hope we can see u also one day holding VEena.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How fascinating about the Veena. I am not very familiar with this instrument since I live in Canada. On the few occasions when I do hear Indian music, I always enjoy listening to it. I am curious to know what a Veena sounds like. I must look it up. That was quite the story about your roommate putting the Veena on the bed and her sleeping on the floor.

    http://cattitudeandgratitude.blogspot.com/2014/07/ubc-day-4-you-have-sight-but-do-you.html

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Ultimate Blogging Challenge Week 2 July 2014 - Write Tribe

Please feel free to leave your opinion here, to help me grow, to correct me wherever needed